Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What weight is in a backpack

Hi.

When I'm in the Phoenix park I see groups of army lads on a run/forced march. If anyone has ever done this I am wondering what's
    A) the distance
    B) the time to do it and
    C) what's in the bag and what it weighs

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Cheers

a) 10km
    b) 93 minutes (if under 30)
    c) full water bottle, Wet Gear, Spare Smock, Spare Boots and helmet - approx 14kg

Comment

Info here:

Interestingly enough, no mention of the weight... anyone from RDF South there to point this one out to the site admin ?
      "Well, stone me! We've had cocaine, bribery and Arsenal scoring two goals at home. But just when you thought there were truly no surprises left in football, Vinnie Jones turns out to be an international player!" (Jimmy Greaves)!"

Comment

I've been doing the ITS since 2008 and the backpack has to weigh 12.5 kilos.

Comment

Originally posted by DeV View Post
          a) 10km
          c) full water bottle, Wet Gear, Spare Smock, Spare Boots and helmet - approx 14kg
          You forgot CEFO.That has to be worn aswell.NO stipulation what has to be in it though.
          "Let us be clear about three facts. First, all battles and all wars are won in the end by the infantryman. Secondly, the infantryman always bears the brunt. His casualties are heavier, he suffers greater extremes of discomfort and fatigue than the other arms. Thirdly, the art of the infantryman is less stereotyped and far harder to acquire in modern war than that of any other arm." ------- Field Marshall Wavell, April 1945.

Comment

My ipod usually
            "Are they trying to shoot down the other drone? "

"No, they're trying to fly the tank"

Comment

Originally posted by DeV View Post
              a) 10km
              surely all of these items aren't mandatory, and is it the same weight carried by all arms of the Army?
              RGJ