Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flagship

Two questions folks:

A) How is the Flagship chosen in the Irish Naval Service?

B) What vessels have been the Flagships prior to the LE Eithne?

I’m a newbie, so go easy on me if these are stupid questions!

My understanding (and it is open to correction) is the flagship is the one commanded by the most senior officer. As Eithne is commanded by a Commander, not a Lieutenant Commander, it defaults to Flagship.
    It is also the ship that has extra accomodation, and conference facilities, that would allow all other ships captains to meet aboard.
    It only ACTUALLY becomes flagship when the Flag officer is aboard. During that time his flag is flown uppermost.

Catch-22 says they have a right to do anything we can't stop them from doing.

Comment

Prior to Eithne all ships where under the command of a Lt Commander and it was usualy the most resently built ship that was the designated Flagship , so prior to Eithne Aisling was flag ship and Aoife before that and so fort .
      Don't spit in my Bouillabaisse .

Comment

Thanks guys, very informative!

Comment

Correct and right in both cases. Eithne suits the role, while not being the newest build.

It only ACTUALLY becomes flagship when the Flag officer is aboard. During that time his flag is flown uppermost.
          Correct again therefore practically any vessel of the fleet can be Flag Ship should he choose to fly his flag there.

Gold Star on Green Back round used to be flown from the VS tower in the base when FOCNS was based in Dublin.Used also to be a plate that could be used on the CO's 'saloon car' Used to be the old 3 litre Ford Granada JZC 399 ( open to correction on the numerical part).
          Covid 19 is not over ....it's still very real..Hand Hygiene, Social Distancing and Masks.. keep safe

Comment