Thinking of Cadets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking of Cadets

Alright lads, never thought about going for the navy before always just considered the army. Recently being thinking about it and talking to a few people in the navy and have realised it would be a really exciting career, with a better day to day than the army.

Im in 2nd year of a 3 year course so this time next year ill be going for the cadets. What I was wondering was what should i do in the year i have to boost my chances of getting the navy cadets? I dont know anything about ships or the navy but i will by next year. Do the navy only take in people who have experience or knowledge or family ties or can you get in if you know nothing?

Obviously a knowledge of the job is essential...family backround is not though.What branch do you intend on trying for ? use the search function as this topic was covered a couple of months back.
    Covid 19 is not over ....it's still very real..Hand Hygiene, Social Distancing and Masks.. keep safe

Comment

You could try taking up sailing

Comment

Id be going for the executive branch because i doubt engineering would be up my street. Yeh i was thinking of doing a sailing course of some description for a week in the Summer or maybe a Scuba Diving course or something. Need to be able to fill out the activities part of the form with something navy like. All i do besides fca is boxing and soccer doubt any of them are very navy relevant though.

Comment

Originally posted by lefty
          All i do besides fca is boxing and soccer doubt any of them are very navy relevant though.
          Stamina is extremely important. Tis a good idea to do scuba divin / sailing / canoeing, you'll build a tolerance to the cold and dampness which will really come into intself when the body is put under stress, eg. night excercises when the temp drops, marchin in wet weather, scratch, and "missions" gone on by cadets.