Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ireland-A strategic advantage for the Axis in WW2?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ireland-A strategic advantage for the Axis in WW2?

How now All!

Maybe this was raised before, i donno (i'm a newbie to posts here - always spent too much time reading yer addictive posts!!)

Just wondering what yer thoughts are on the tactical advantage of Axis troops in occupied Ireland during the war? The Brits would've been surrounded on 3 sides (Ireland, France & Norway far to the east), so it would've caused even more chaos for them. Hitler did have plans to invade, can't think of the operation codeword now but the invasion/basing of German forces here would have been swift, right?

If he hadn't turned his attention to Russia (his ultimate downfall), Ireland would've been next (?) and things would've turned out a whole lot different.
    Courage is being scared to death, but saddlin'up anyway - John Wayne

Operation Green I believe.

The Brits had plans to invade Ireland too, we've always been a worry for them, ever since the old kingdoms of the 15th century.

Had Hitler invaded Ireland, the war would have been won.

Comment

If Hitler invaded Ireland the war would have indeed have been won, but the reason for this would be that Britain would already have been out of the running. As long as the RAF and Royal Navy was in existence, a German seaborne invasion of Ireland would not succeed.
      Given British air superiority over Ireland, even a limited German paradrop would be unlikely, and easily within the abilities of the Irish Army to contain.

So in short, the tactical invasion to Germany of an Irish Invasion would have been minimal, because they would already have won the war!

Comment

There was a doucmentry on this on TG4 some years narrated by Mick Lally, of all people.