Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best type of Infantry Fitness

Hello all,
    I just wanted to start a thread to see can I find the best way to get and keep fit in the RDF. We all know the 20/20/11mins thing for the PDF has been dicussed but that's a joke. I find personally that even though i'd be running, in the gym & playing football 5 or 6 times a week, i'm still knackered after a few section in attacks. Anyone any idea's on how to increase this very specific type of fitness? Afterall it's a fairly unique physical activity!

Cheers,
    Barndoor (as in, couldn't hit a)

ha ha ha... nice name...

well im no expert on the matter but how about you just keep doing section in atack after section in atack after section in atack till you become fit? surely the muscles you want to improve will after 10 a day or so...

but now... where to do them... hmmm
    Over the centuries, mankind has tried many ways of combating the forces of evil...prayer, fasting, good works and so on. Up until Doom, no one seemed to have thought about the double-barrel shotgun. Eat leaden death, demon...

http://www.iamawesome.com/

Comment

In my unit (RDF) we're starting the IT fitness tests commencing next week.

I asked the PDF PTI if it was going to be written or practical. I had a preference for a written test.

I got a vacant stare as a reply. I don't think he got the joke.
      Beart do reir ar mbriathar

Comment

If you fail these IT's what will happen? Personally I'd love to have these introduced into the RDF as a whole.

Comment

Speed training and something thats very intense on LME like rock climbing or fast swimming are good ways to prepare yourself for the stop start rhythym of section in attack.
          For speed training you can use a bike, but that leaves your legs expecting the wrong kind of motion, if you've got great self discipline you can just practice sprints