East Timor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• East Timor

Could any board members who were part of or in the know about the East Timor mission please enlighten me, I understand that it was a peace enforcement mission like Chad and all that goes with that sort of job, but I'm curious as to why any images of the DF on the ground look more like they are fighting a war than keeping the peace in contrast to the lads in Chad. What exactly were the troops tasked to do that required camo'd faces and stealthy patrols? I appreciate that this probably borders on OPSEC but any info would be great.

Thanks Kermit I was aware of that going by the official site, however the site also mentions platoons from various inf BNs going out too, now I'm the first to say I'm no expert but was that not unusual given the way most groups are formed?

Comment

There was two operations working under very different mandates and RoEs. INTERFET and UNTAET.
      One was sneaky beaky in your face, the other was hearts and minds.. in your face.
      Look up INTERFET and UNTAET
      Also, UNSC Resolution 1264.

Catch-22 says they have a right to do anything we can't stop them from doing.

Comment

Thanks GF, had a look at 1264 clears up a lot, anyone have any stories from serving there?

Comment

Its still restricted and will be until 2019
          Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
          Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
          The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere***
          The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
          The best lack all conviction, while the worst
          Are full of passionate intensity.

Comment

Originally posted by hedgehog View Post
            Its still restricted and will be until 2019
            well then dont forget any good tales HH, I'll pm you January 1st 2019, be sure you are available for comment

Comment